Thursday, February 23, 2012

Directors of Academy Award-nominated "Undefeated" join Jeff Fisher on High School Football America

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

If the Super Bowl is football's pinnacle, then the Academy Awards are the Super Bowl of movies.

On Sunday in Hollywood, directors Dan Lindsay and T.J. Martin will be trying to win the Super Bowl that comes with a golden statue known as Oscar.

Back in 2009, Lindsay and Martin shot more than 500 hours worth of video while covering the Manassas High School football team that was trying to win the school's first-ever playoff game in the 110-year history of the Memphis, Tennessee school.

The result was more than just a football documentary called Undefeated.  It's what critics are calling a real life Blindside, and as a result, Undefeated is now nominated in the category of Best Documentary at Sunday night's Oscars.

Tonight at 7pm Eastern Time, Lindsay and Martin will be my guests on High School Football America to talk about catching lightning in a bottle all the way to the red carpet.

Former Manassas head coach Bill Courtney is at the center of this piece of football history that I can't wait to see next week.

From the moment I watched the first seconds of the trailer (below), I was hooked and ready to see the entire 113 minutes.  Undefeated is currently showing in LA and NYC and will be opening in additional cities on March 2nd.

Click here to listen to this evening's show at 7pm EST.

Monday, February 06, 2012

Florida High School Football Leads the Way with Eight Former Players Winning Super Bowl Rings

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

We all know that the New York Giants won Super Bowl XVI behind another outstanding 4th quarter comeback led by MVP quarterback Eli Manning.

Somewhere during the 10+ hours of pre-game, game and post-game coverage, it was mentioned that Peyton's younger brother played his high school ball at Isadore Newman High School in New Orleans.

While pundits and fans are still breaking down the game and the commercials, we thought we'd take a look at how high school football fared Sunday.

Florida wins the overall battle with eight former Sunshine State high school players on the Giants' roster. California and Ohio tied for the second most Super Bowl champs with five players each.

When you combine the rosters of the Giants and Patriots, California led the way with 13 former high school football players taking the field in yesterday's Super Bowl in Indianapolis.  Florida had the second most players in yesterday's game with eleven, Ohio wasn't far behind with nine.

Below is a look at the Giants roster followed by the high school of each player.

New York Giants Super Bowl Roster

#5 - Steve Weatherford (North Vigo HS, IN)
#8 - David Carr (Stockdale HS, CA)
#9 - Lawrence Tynes (Milton HS, FL)
#10 - Eli Manning (Isadore Newman HS, LA)
#12 - Jerrel Jernigan (Eufaula HS, AL)
#13 - Ramses Barden (Flintridge Prep, CA)
#15 - Devin Thomas (Canton HS, MI)
#20 - Prince Amukamara (Apollo HS, AZ)
#21 - Kenny Phillips (Carol City HS, FL)
#22 - Derrick Martin (Thomas Jefferson HS, CO)
#23 - Corey Webster (St. James HS, LA)
#26 - Antrel Rolle (South Dade HS, FL)
#27 - Brandon Jacobs (Assumption HS, LA)
#28 - D.J. Ware (Rockmart HS, GA)
#31 - Aaron Ross (Tyler HS, TX)
#33 - Da'rel Scott (Plymouth Whitemarsh HS, PA)
#34 - Deon Grant (Josey HS, GA)
#36 - Will Blackmon (Bishop Hendricken HS, RI)
#39 - Tyler Sash (Oskaloosa HS, IA)
#44 - Ahmad Bradshaw (Graham HS, VA)
#45 - Henry Hynoski (Southern Columbia HS, PA)
#47 - Travis Beckum (Oak Creek HS, WI)
#51 - Zak DeOssie (Phillips Academy, MA)
#53 - Greg Jones (Archbishop Moeller HS, OH)
#55 - Spencer Paysinger (Beverly Hills HS, CA)
#57 - Jacquian Williams (Riverview HS, FL)
#58 - Mark Herzlich (Conestoga HS, PA)
#59 - Michael Boley (Elkmont HS, AL)
#62 - Mitch Petrus (Carlisle HS, AK)
#63 - Jim Cordle (Lancaster HS, OH)
#64 - David Bass (Riverview HS, FL)
#66 - David Diehl (Brother Rice HS, IL)
#67 - Kareem McKenzie (Willingboro HS, NJ)
#69 - Justin Trattou (Don Bosco Prep, NJ)
#70 - Tony Ugoh (Westfield HS, TX)
#71 - Dave Tollefson (Ygnacio Valley HS, CA)
#72 - Osi Umenyiora (Auburn HS, AL)
#73 - Jimmy Kennedy (Roosevelt HS, NY)
#76 - Chris Snee (Montrose HS, PA)
#77 - Kevin Boothe (Pine Crest HS, FL)
#79 - James Brewer (Arlington HS, IN)
#80 - Victor Cruz (Patterson Catholic HS, NJ)
#82 - Mario Manningham (Harding HS, OH)
#85 - Jay Ballard (Springboro HS, OH)
#86 - Bear Pascoe (Granite Hills HS, CA)
#88 - Hakeem Nicks (Independence HS, NC)
#90 - Jason Pierre-Paul (Deerfield Beach HS, FL)
#91 - Justin Tuck (Central Coosa County HS, AL)
#94 - Mathias Kiwanuka (Indianapolis Cathedral, IN)
#95 - Chase Blackburn (Marysville HS, OH)
#97 - Linval Joseph (Santa Fe HS, FL)
#99 - Chris Canty (Charlotte Latin, NC)

Thursday, February 02, 2012

Great Line-up of Guests for Tonight's High School Football America Radio Show

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

A former NFL quarterback turned high school football head coach; a highly successful coach leaving his state champion team for a new challenge; and the leader of America's oldest football club.  That's the description of guests that will appear on High School Football America tonight starting at 7pm Eastern Time.

My lead guest will be Jon Kitna, who after 16-years as an NFL QB with nearly 30,000 yards in passing, has become the new head football coach at his alma mater Lincoln High School in Tacoma, Washington.  Kitna will be discussing his dream of returning home to not only coach football, but also to teach mathematics.

The second guest tonight will be Jamey Dubose, who after leading Prattville High School in Alabama to national prominence and two 6A state titles as a head coach, has resigned to take the head coaching job at Florence High School.

I'll wrap-up the show with Mark Wolpert, executive director of The Maxwell Football Club, which is America's oldest football club.  Mark will be talking about the organization's national player of the year, Noah Spence from Bishop McDevitt High School in Pennsylvania.  Spence will be honored along with the Maxwell Football Club's College and NFL Players of the Year at the group's 75th gala in Atlantic City on March 2nd.

Click here to listen live starting at 7pm Eastern/6pm Central Time.