Sunday, January 18, 2009

Snowstorm Postpones Naming of Maine's Top High School Football Player

By Jeff Fisher
The High School Football Huddle

The three finalists for Maine's James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy, which is awarded to the state's top senior high school football player, will have to wait a little longer to find-out who is the 2008 winner. A snowstorm in Portland postponed Sunday's banquet.

The finalists for this year's Fitzy are Billy Clark of Skowhegan, Nate Doehler of Bonny Eagle and Justin Staires of Mountain Valley. Click here for a great story from the Morning Sentinel on the award that some call Maine's Heisman Trophy.

Click here to learn more about the man the trophy is named after.

No comments: