Saturday, October 15, 2011

First High School Football Championship Trophies Handed-Out

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

The Nikiski Bulldogs are the first 2011 high school football champs.

Nikiski today beat Barrow 52-21 to win the Alaska Small School championship.  The Bulldogs won the first two Small School championship games in 2000 and 2001.  Kenai (5 titles) and Soldotna (4 titles) are the only other schools to win Small School crowns.

The Bulldogs used a strong running attack and the right arm of quarterback Colton Anderson to win the school's third state title.  Nikiski rushed for 391 yards, while Anderson was 6-of-8 for 128 yards and three touchdowns.

No comments: