Sunday, July 18, 2010

51 High School Football Coaches to Take Part in NFL-USA Football Youth Summit

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

The National Football League's outreach into youth football continues this week with the 11th annual NFL-USA Football Youth Summit in Ohio.

51 top high school football coaches, one from each state in the nation, plus Washington D.C., will take part in the three-day summit that begins Wednesday at Kent State University. In addition to the high school coaches, more than 50 other supporters of youth and high school football will attend.

Former Pittsburgh Steeler great Merril Hoge will address Summit participants on the importance of coaching, while two-time Super Bowl winning Dallas Cowboy Darrin Smith will speak about the importance of education.  Pro Football Hall of Famer Mike Haynes; former Green Bay Packer all-pro and Vince Lombardi protégé, Dave Robinson; and Canton native and former Chiefs quarterback Todd Blackledge will also address the group.

High school football coaches registered for an opportunity to attend the Summit by entering a nomination and essay contest conducted by the NFL and USA Football. Coaches submitted online essays in which they wrote about their coaching careers, commitment to youth and coaching philosophies. A blue-ribbon panel, consisting of local state representatives, reviewed the essays, and coaches were chosen to serve as their state's delegate at the Summit.

State delegates for 2010 NFL Youth Football Coaching Summit
State/Name/High School
Alabama/Tim Carter/Auburn High School
Alaska/John Jessen/Bartlett High School
Arizona/Ronald Jacobson/Dobson High School
Arkansas/Mike Banning/Clarksville High School
California/Ken Peralta/Marin Catholic High School
Colorado/Wayne Voorhees/Legacy High School
Connecticut/Duane Maranda/Bacon High School
Delaware/Dan Ritter/Howard High School
District of Columbia/Horace Fleming/Wilson High School
Florida/Reggie Roberts/Zephyrhills High School
Georgia/Brian Smith/Hebron Christian Academy
Hawaii/Randall Okimoto/Farrington High School
Idaho/Jason Warr/Rocky Mountain High School
Illinois/Elton Harris/Hubbard High School
Indiana/Geneo Riley/Pike High School
Iowa/Jason Mehrhoff/Interstate 35 School
Kentucky/John Davis/North Hardin Christian School
Louisiana/Jabbar Juluke/Edna Karr High School
Maine/Rick Marcella/Bridgton Academy
Maryland/Tommy Green/Eleanor Roosevelt High School
Massachusetts/John Aloisi/Nantucket High School
Michigan/Jeremy Gold/Pioneer High School
Minnesota/Rufus Bess/Park Center High School
Mississippi/Perry Wheat/Purvis High School
Missouri/Greg Reynolds/Park Hill High School
Montana/Jim Oberweiser/Drummond High School
Nebraska/Jeff Bellar/Norfolk Catholic High School
Nevada/John Elwell/Valley High School
New Hampshire/Mike Beliveau/Souhegan High School
New Jersey/Leonard Marshall/Hudson Catholic High School
New Mexico/Jared Howell/Piedra Vista High School
New York/Joe Vito/Roosevelt High School
North Carolina/Scott Braswell/John T. Hoggard High School
North Dakota/Barry Holmen/Minot High School
Ohio/Dennis Fowlkes/Columbus East High School
Oklahoma/Kenny Blair/Northeast Academy
Oregon/Terry Summerfield/Barlow High School
Pennsylvania/Kevin Vaughn/Norwood Academy
Rhode Island/Geoff Marcone/LaSalle Academy
South Carolina/Jimmy Woods/Timmonsville High School
South Dakota/Terry Dosch/Aberdeen Roncalli Catholic High School
Tennessee/Tony Brunetti/Pearl-Cohn High School
Texas/Ray Seals/Madison High School
Utah/Les Hamilton/Alta High School
Vermont/Charlie Burnett/Essex High School
Virginia/Jim Poythress/Lake Braddock Secondary School
Washington/Steve Valach/Liberty High School
West Virginia/John Bowers/Morgantown High School
Wisconsin/Duane Rogatzki/Oconto Falls High School
Wyoming/Chris Williams/Cody High School

No comments: