Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Rudy Award Announces 12 Finalists

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

Character, courage, contribution and commitment...those are the characteristics that the officials of the High School Football Rudy Awards are looking when examining the list of candidates for the second annual award named after Daniel "Rudy" Ruettiger, who became a not-so-famous, famous player while at Notre Dame while only playing two downs as a 5-6, 165 pound walk-on.

Yesterday, Trusted Sports and Ruettinger announced the twelve finalists for this years awards.  The finalists were chosen from over 250 nominees, who teammates, coaches and their communities believe inspire others to excellence on-and-off the field.

Here are the finalists...

Chance Anthony - Hardinsburg, Kentucky
Kamron Clark - Canton, South Dakota
Kenny Daily - Bend, Oregon
Tyler Dutruch - Slidell, Louisiana
Jake Eilers - Breese, Illinois
Michael Harris - Fort Worth, Texas
Schuylar Hurd-Johnson - Indianapolis, Indiana
Reid Layton - Seminole, Texas
Phillip Madriaga - Aiea, Hawaii
Cody Rye - Ironwood, Michigan
Tray Waite - Warren, Ohio
Kyle Wilcox - Seffner, Florida
**profiles of the finalist can be found at

"These twelve finalists are amazing! I'd like to meet each and every one of them so I can shake their hand and let them know how much they've inspired me," said Drew Bledsoe, former NFL quarterback and Chairman of the Selection Committee. "Over the Holidays I've shared some of their stories with friends and family, and we're in awe by what these kids have been through. They really honor the soul of the High School Football Rudy Awards, which is all about motivating others, and demonstrating immense courage and integrity. Every single one of them is a 'Rudy'."

The winner, who will be chosen January 18th, will receive a $10,000 scholarship, with two runners-up and a fan favorite determined by on-line voting receiving $5,000 scholarships.

No comments: