Wednesday, January 26, 2011

NFL Names High School Football Coach of the Year

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

Riverview High School (Sarasota, FL) head football coach John Sprague is the 2010 NFL High School Coach of the Year.

Sprague was nominated by former players David Bass of the San Francisco 49ers and Drew Miller of the St. Louis Rams.

As the 2010 NFL High School Football Coach of the Year, Sprague and a guest will be invited to attend the 2011 Pro Bowl at Aloha Stadium in Hawaii as a guest of the NFL. Coach Sprague also will receive a check for $5,000, and a $10,000 grant will be awarded to the football program at Riverview.

The NFL High School Football Coach of the Year Award was created in 1995 by the NFL and its teams to honor coaches who profoundly impacted the athletic and personal development of NFL players. This year, more than 50 NFL players nominated the high school football coaches who helped shape them during their teenage years.

Baas congratulated Coach Sprague on the recognition, saying “[He] is very deserving of this award. He has been a mentor for me, bringing me along into my career, and to all the kids he's helped, whether they're in the NFL or not. He really cares about them not only as players but as people too, no matter who they are or where they come from."

Miller added, “This is a great honor for Coach Sprague and is much deserved. I couldn’t be happier for him and the Riverview Rams.”

No comments: