Tuesday, June 12, 2012

7th All-Time Winningest High School Football Coach Un-Retires

by Jeff Fisher
High School Football America

It's been quite an off-season for a couple of members of high school football's elite 400-Win Club.

Last month, G.A. Moore, fifth on the country's all-time wins list with 423 wins, resigned from Aubrey High School in Texas.  Monday, George Curry, seventh on the all-time wins list with 413 returned to the game and the school he led to national prominence.

Curry is the new "old" coach at Berwick High School in northeastern Pennsylvania.  Curry replaces Gary Campbell, who was hired to replace Curry after Pennsylvania's all-time winningest coach retired in 2005.

The job opened-up after Campbell resigned reportedly to take a new job in his home state of Massachusetts.

Amazingly last year, three coaches entered the elite 400-Win Club: Corky Rogers (The Bolles School, Florida), Al Fracassa (Brother Rice, Michigan) and Bob Paroli (Seventy-First, North Carolina).

This year it's possible that three more could join the club as you can see from the list below.  Please note there are different sources that use different numbers for coaches, but we believe this is the correct list...or at least as best as we can tell.

High School Football's All-Time Winningest Coaches

1. *John McKissick, Summerville (SC) - 594
2. * J.T. Curtis, John Curtis (LA) - 506
3. *Larry Campbell, Lincoln County (GA) - 459
4. *Mike Smith, Hampton (VA) - 428
5. G.A. Moore, Texas - 423
6. *Corky Rogers, The Bolles School (FL) - 414
7. *George Curry, Berwick (PA) - 413
8. Pete Atkins, Missouri - 405
9. *Al Fracassa, Brother Rice (MI) - 404
10. Bob Paroli, Seventy-First (NC) - 403
11. Dick Tighe, St. Edmond (IA) - 390
12. John Herrington, Harrison (MI) - 386
13. Bob Ladouceur, De La Salle (CA) - 385

*Still Active

No comments: